Log in

Be sure to log in to access members-only resources.

 NMLSTA is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

  • 05/03/2023 11:37 AM | Loris Chen (Administrator)

    Kristin Slota is the 2023 Bob Thompson Excellence in Energy Award recipient! She has won $1,000 and an all expenses paid trip to attend the National Energy Conference for Educators this July in Austin, TX. Congratulations Kristin, well deserved!

  • 09/21/2021 7:47 AM | Loris Chen (Administrator)

    NMLSTA Past President Dr. Anne Farley Schoeffler, a science educator at Seton Catholic School, has recieved a one-year appointment to the Polar Educators International Council.

    Use the the link to learn more about  programs offered by Polar Educators International.

  • 09/19/2021 3:08 PM | Loris Chen (Administrator)

    Kristin Slota has been selected as a Project Lead the Way Outstanding Teacher for 2021-2022. Kristin is a teacher at Afton Elementary in Pennsylvania.  The award recognizes creative educational approaches that restult in high student achievement. Use the link to learn more about PLTW Awards for 2o21-2022. 

    PLTW Yearbook

  • 03/27/2018 12:19 PM | Todd Hoover (Administrator)

    Earth Science Teaching Award Winner Announced (from

    Kenneth L. Huff, a sixth-grade teacher at Mill Middle School in Williamsville, New York, has been named the 2018 recipient of the Edward C. Roy, Jr. Award for Excellence in K-8 Earth Science Teaching. Huff earned his master's degree in education from the State University of New York College at Buffalo and is National Board certified in Early Adolescence/Science. In addition to teaching, Huff was the co-chair of the Teacher Advisory Council for the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine.

    "Mr. Huff is an exceptionally accomplished earth and space science teacher," said Allyson Anderson Book, executive director of the American Geosciences Institute. "His demonstrated strength for connecting his students with professional geoscientists and his thoughtful lesson plans have earned the admiration of his colleagues and national recognition in the teaching community."

    Huff received the award this month at the National Earth Science Teachers Association (NESTA) Friends of Earth Science Reception during the 2018 National Science Teachers Association Conference in Atlanta. This year's finalists were Anica Brown of Pound Middle School in Lincoln, Nebraska, and Chris Spiegl of Montgomery Bell Academy in Nashville, Tennessee.

    Given annually, AGI's Edward C. Roy, Jr. Award recognizes one classroom teacher from kindergarten to eighth grade for leadership and innovation in Earth science education. The award is named in honor of Dr. Edward C. Roy, Jr., who was a strong and dedicated supporter of Earth science education. To learn more, please see the Roy Award website.

  • 02/07/2018 9:43 AM | Todd Hoover (Administrator)

    NMLSTA Board Member, Melissa Sleeper, has been named a NASA Solar System Ambassador!  The Solar System Ambassadors program is a public engagement effort that works with motivated volunteers across the nation to communicate the science and excitement of NASA's space exploration missions and discoveries to the people in their communities.  More details about Melissa's appointment can be found at the link below.

    More info about the Solar System Ambassador program can be found at:

    Congratulations, Melissa!

Sponsors & Partners

Current Sponsors for the Paul de Hart Hurd Award and Meet Me in the Middle activities

          FOSS                 null  


Interested in sponsoring NMLSTA? Email Mary Lou Lipscomb


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software